Mass Technology Leadership Council Celebrates Innovation Community at 19th Annual Gala

MassTLC Posted 09.15.16


MassTLC members at the 19th annual Leadership Awards Gala. Photo credit: Pretty Instant

State’s Foremost Technology Trade Association Honors Trailblazers of Massachusetts’ Technology Economy, Champions in Diversity and Education With Coveted Leadership Awards

BOSTON, MA–(Marketwired – Sep 15, 2016) – Hundreds of the region’s most influential executives, community leaders, business luminaries and media celebrated the state’s world-renowned spirit of innovation last night at the 19th annual MassTLC Leadership Awards Gala. Applauding the people and companies shaping the Massachusetts technology economy, awards were given to the winners in 16 categories — including company of the year winner, Wayfair, and 2016 CEO of the year, Kronos’ Aron Ain. The Gala took place at Boston’s Seaport World Trade Center.

Several visionaries also earned special recognition for making tangible contributions to their communities. Distinguished Leadership awards were given to David Delmar, Founder, Resilient Coders; Nigel Jacob, Co-Founder, Mayor’s Office of New Urban Mechanics; and Vicky Wu Davis, Executive Director and Founder, Youth CITIES. In addition, Anthony Williams, Vice President of Global Talent Acquisition and Diversity at Akamai Technologies, received the Council’s inaugural Mosaic Award, given in conjunction with Black Tech Boston.

“When it comes to vision and executable innovation that makes the world a better place, Massachusetts sets the pace for the rest of the world,” said Tom Hopcroft, CEO, MassTLC. “Our history is one of solving big problems, changing lives and making anything possible. It’s an honor to host a gala that once again brought together the most important players across the state’s tech, civic and business sectors to celebrate the accomplishments of so many, while looking ahead to what this community will accomplish in the days ahead.”

Selected from hundreds of nominations, and evaluated by panels comprising dozens of executives, investors, analysts, media and thought leaders, winners in the 16 categories are:

CEO of the Year: Aron Ain, Kronos

CTO of the Year: Greg Hinkle, Evergage

Emerging Executive of the Year: Mike Festa, Wayfair

Best Use of Technology – Big Data: Progress Software

Best Use of Technology – Cloud: Fuze

Best Use of Technology – Internet of Things: Powerhouse Dynamics

Innovative Tech of the Year – Ed Tech: Cognii

Innovative Tech of the Year – Consumer Tech: Mini Mole

Innovative Tech of the Year – Fin Tech: Mineral Tree

Innovative Tech of the Year – Healthcare Tech: Wellist

Innovative Tech of the Year – Mobile: Toast

Innovative Tech of the Year – Sales & Marketing: Allego

Innovative Tech of the Year – Security: Pwnie Express

Innovative Tech of the Year – Robotics: Symbotic

Company of the Year: Wayfair

Emerging Company of the Year: Fuze

Click here to view the full list of finalists online, or visit:

Awards Program Platinum Sponsors: Century Link, CHEN PR, Cisco, Marsh & McLennan Agency, Microsoft, PwC and Unosquare.

Gold Sponsors: Black Tech Boston, CoreSite, Hired, K Square Law, Matter CommunicationsPretty Instant and Raytheon.

About The Mass Technology Leadership Council, Inc.
With 500+ member companies, the Mass Technology Leadership Council (MassTLC) is the region’s leading technology association and the premier network for tech executives, entrepreneurs, investors and policy leaders. MassTLC’s purpose is to accelerate innovation by connecting people from across the technology landscape, providing access to industry-leading content and ideas and offering a platform for visibility for member companies and their interests. More at


For more information, contact:

Carro Halpin
Email Contact